Cymdeithas Ddawns

Werin Gymru

Welsh Folk Dance Society

Llywyddes – President : Mrs. Lois Blake.

Cadeirydd – Chairman
Mr. W. S. Gwynn Williams,Glas Hafod, Llangollen.

Trysoryd – Treasurer
Mr. W. E. Cleaver, Abernant, Bodfari, Nr. Denbigh.

Trefnydd – Organiser
Mrs. Lois Blake, Tafarn-y-Pric, Corwen.

Golygydd – Editor
Mr. lfan O. Williams, B.B.C., Bangor.

Ysgrifennydd – Secretary
Miss E. Daniels Jones, Dinas, Greenfield Road, Ruthin.

Pwyllgor Gwaith – Executive Committee:
Miss Cassie Davies, H,M.I.
Miss Gwennant Davies, Aberystwyth.
Mrs. Irene Edwards, Bettws-Y-Coed.
Miss D. Freeman, Newport.
Mr. Redvers Jones, Llangefni.
Miss S. Storey Jones, Mold.
Mr. Teifryn Michael,
Aberystwyth. Dr. lorwerth Peate, Cardiff.
Mrs. Marjorie Pierce, Llangollen.
Mrs. Gwenllian Roberts, Corwen
Miss Nest Pierce Roberts, Llangadfan.
Miss A. Rogers, H.M.I.
Miss Gwen Taylor, Wrexham.
Alderman Margaret Williams. St, Asaph.

At a public meeting held at The Castle, Shrewsbury, on Saturday, July 23rd 1949, the Welsh Folk Dance Society was formed.

The following Constitution was decided upon:

The Society shall be called “The Welsh Folk Dance Society.”

The object of the Society shall be to study and make known generally Welsh Folk Dance material already collected and published, to co-ordinate Welsh folk dance activities, and to make further research.

The Society shall consist of members who pay an annual subscription of not less than 5/-, and life members who contribute a donation of not less than £5.

Every member shall be entitled to attend and vote at all General Meetings of the Society. Anyone whose subscription is in arrears will cease to be a member of the Society.

The Officers of the Society shall be: President, Vice-Presidents, Chairman, Organiser, Treasurer, Editor and to be elected by ballot each year at the Annual Meeting of the Society.

The affairs of the Society shall be managed by an Executive Committee which shall consist of the Officers of the Society (excluding the President and Vice-Presidents) together with twelve members selected by ballot at the Annual Meeting. The Executive Committee shall have power to co-opt three additional members.

The account of receipt and expenditure of the Society shall be audited by an auditor appointed at the Annual Meeting.

No alterations in the Constitution shall be made except at the General Meeting of the members of the Society upon a recommendation from the Executive Committee.